Testing, Testing RSTP Theory – Snowboarding, PART 5b – To-Date Progress Report

I thought I’d do a quick recap of what I’ve accomplished so far towards my goal of learning to snowboard. Each day, by itself, looks like so little is happening. But, there’s a BIG BUT!!!

IMG_0495

But, after putting in ONLY 5 total hours of practice, spread out over JUST 5 days, this is what I’ve drilled into my unconscious so far:

  • Getting my boots on and getting them laced up properly
  • Putting my forward foot in the bindings and tightening down the ratchets
  • Getting up off the ground using “The Frog” technique
  • Getting ON the carpet lift
  • Riding the carpet lift
  • Getting OFF the carpet lift
  • Straight glide forward after getting off the carpet lift
  • Skating with one foot in the binding
  • Stepping with one foot in the binding
  • Straight glide down short run, and progressively longer runs
  • Heel side J-turns
  • Going down longer and steeper slope with more speed with heel side j-turn
  • Heel-side sliding and stopping straight down the hill
  • Heel-side falling leaf pattern down the hill
  • Heel-side sliding and stopping straight down the hill then turning into a straight glide down the slope
  • Heel-side falling leaf pattern across and down the hill then turning into a straight glide down the slope

I’m starting to feel a sense of stability and confidence on the board. I’m pleased with how far I’ve come so quickly. But, the thing I’m most impressed with is how little of a thumping I’ve been taking. I watched my daughter, Jess, learn how to snowboard a few year ago – as a local comedian said that year,

“learning to snowboard is like taking a frozen shovel and getting whacked in the a** a couple hundred times.”

That’s certainly how things looked for her. Yet here I had fallen very little, and was progressing consistently, and from what I could tell, at a pace that was outstripping the convention students.

Was I becoming overly confident?? It seemed too easy!

Tomorrow I’m getting aggressive – stop in an see how it goes (see “Testing, Testing RSTP Theory – Snowboarding, PART 6” )

 

 

Leave a Reply

