Introduction to Snowboarding RSTP Testing, Testing Sequence

It had been 4 years since I had been taken with the idea of creating the Rapid Skill Transfer Protocol (RSTP) process. I was fascinated by the prospect of attempting to build a protocol that would enable an expert in any arena to format their skillsets in a precise and methodical way in order to facilitate the seamless transfer of their expertise to a novice.

I had put in hundreds of hours of study and research in developing the theory, had hundreds of pages of notes and had made a cursory first pass at an actual skillset. I had tested out stick shift driving – and the theory was starting to look viable off-paper, and out in the real world.

Finally, I realized it was time to put all that theory to the test. I needed to take what I had to date and run a new skill set through the theory to see what worked, what didn’t work, and what only functioned partially. I needed real-world feedback to see what lessons still needed to be learned, what theory I was still missing, what further research needed to be done, and to institute all the tweaks needed to be made as a result.

So, why did I pick snowboarding? A lot of reasons…

-Physical skill sets are so easy to use to obtain process feedback. I have a theory that even mentally processed skillsets can be brought into the physical realm in order to build and work with those skill transfer sequences (see “Mentally Processed Skillset Theory” ) But, at this stage in the process of converting theory into practice, it was simply easier for me to use a physical skill set, one that I could observe directly and even chronical in video format.

-For equally pragmatic reasons, I picked snowboarding because it was accessible to me at the time that I was ready to start my testing – we were going to be out skiing at Lake Tahoe anyway. Snowboarding was an obvious choice.

-To me, picking snowboarding was a form of ultimate validation to me. If the theory functions on a skillset that many people would be hesitant to tackle because of its perceived level of risk, then I know that the theory is solid – it means that I can break down a skillset to a fine enough grain level so as to significantly mitigate the risks involved. (see “My Ultimate Validation Test for RSTP – Kiteboarding” )

-Personally significant, was being able to PLAY!!! I figured if I was planning on spending years of my life on a project, I had better make sure it was going to be FUN!! I wanted to test theory on activities and skills that, for me, are a thrill. I love the outdoors and challenging myself physically – so snowboarding was one way to meld together building RSTP, something that I’m passionate about and that will hopefully contribute in some small way to humanity, with the things that I enjoy doing (traveling, adventure, sports, extreme sports). (see how I reconciled two seemingly disparate areas of my life using “Dale Campbell’s ‘Smarter Vision’ Process” )

You can find the whole sequence, including videos, chronically my progression learning snowboarding, and the lessons I’ve learned, in the series of posts that follows (see “Testing, Testing RSTP Theory – Snowboarding, PART 1 – Getting acquainted with the Equipment” )

Leave a Reply

